Hello From Melbourne

JessieBa

Hello

I have been keeping tropical fish for a few months now in a community tank and will be reclaiming a second display tank from its occupants, 2 comets and a Shubunkin.

Before i go ahead and stock the 48 x 18, I thought I would do some research into livebearers as these will be the new inhabitants.

I need to know what conditions they enjoy.

I spend some time on the Australian Fish Forum of which i am a registered member and loved the help I got there on keeping tetras, hoping to meet some new friends here on this forum.

Please say hello if you feel like it, i don't bite

Thanks

Hi

ninoid12, bubbzy81 and Lilli,

Thanks for the welcome...

Im planning the tank to come inside this week, my dad will give me a lift with it. I am a little worried about conserving my fully cycled water that is in the tank currently.

I also plan to use some substrate when the move takes place because i want a planted tank. My thoughts are using amazonia ii, is this ok for livebearers? and my ph from the tap is highish and i heard amazonia ii acts as a buffer. This would be a welcomed method of buffering PH.

I also want to buy liquid ferts and maybe do DIY Co2. I currently use flourish excel to also keep algae at bay. Is it ok to dose the tank with excel and flourish or is there a better Seachem product? I also age my water with Prime , straight into my tank upon water change, is it worth getting a food grade barrel to store water and age it every week before water changes, does any one do this? Can you provide instructions.

Ok enough about me , and I will now be posting anything in the set topics,

C u

I am a little worried about conserving my fully cycled water that is in the tank currently.

Don't worry, the nitrifying bacteria colonises surfaces, not the water column.